Shavkat Mirziyoyev signed a decree “On additional measures to accelerate the development of tourism in Uzbekistan” on January 5, 2019.

The document envisages the creation of favorable conditions for the development of tourism in the country, enhancing the quality and competitiveness of services provided, active and comprehensive advancement of the national tourist products in the world markets, and the implementation of the recommendations of President Shavkat Mirziyoyev proclaimed during his address to the parliament on 28 December 2018. In accordance with the above and the Actions Strategy along five priority areas of development of the Republic of Uzbekistan in 2017-2021:

1.The Concept of tourism development and plan of measures for 2019-2025 has been approved;

2.The Coordination Council for Tourism Development, established in compliance with the Presidential Decree dated August 16, 2017, coordinates the activities of ministries, departments and other organizations, monitors implementation of the Concept and Measures Plan and quarterly provides detailed information on the course of work under this document to the Presidential Administration;

  1. A 30-day visa-free regime will be introduced for citizens of 45 countries from 1 February 2019;

4.The list of countries having access to the electronic entry visas by the State Committee for Tourism Development, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the State Security Service will be expanded from February 1, 2019, and from March 15, types of 30-day electronic visas will be introduced. Besides, special visas for representatives of separate groups will be presented;

5.Citizens of 106 countries are entitled to purchase housing in Uzbekistan. In order to do so, citizens of these states will need to purchase a certain real estate on the territory of Uzbekistan;

6.A working group will be set up to radically improve Uzbekistan’s logistics system and attract foreign airlines to local airports;

7.Within three months, a single electronic portal of the republic’s transport system will be created, which will sell tickets through blockchain technologies based on the availability of seats (buses, air and rail).

The implementation of the document is entrusted to the Prime Minister of the Republic of Uzbekistan A. Aripov, the Head of the Presidential Administration Z. Nizomiddinov, Secretary of the Security Council under the President V. Mahmudov and the Deputy Prime Minister
A. Abduhakimov.

List of Visa Free countries to Uzbekistan as of February 2019.

Andorra Canada Iceland Mongolia San Marino
Argentina Chile Ireland Montenegro Serbia
Australia Croatia Italy Netherlands Slovenia
Austria Czech Republic Latvia New Zealand Slovakia
Belgium Denmark Liechtenstein Norway Spain
Bosnia & Herzegovina Estonia Lithuania Poland Sweden
Brazil Finland Luxembourg Portugal Switzerland
Brunei Darussalam Greece Malta Republic of Cyprus United Kingdom
Bulgaria Hungary Monaco Romania Vatican


Nationals of France, Israel, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, and Turkey were granted visa free access in 2018. Germanswill have visa free access from 15 January, 2019.

A bilateral visa-free regime has been established with Kyrgyzstan (up to 60 days), Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Russia and Ukraine.

The visa-free regime applies to citizens of these countries, holders of all categories of passports (diplomatic, service and civil) planning to visit the Republic of Uzbekistan for up to 30 days, regardless of the purpose of their trip. In order to enter the country, a person must have a valid national passport or another substitute document used for travel to foreign countries.

The visa-free regime does not apply to stateless persons permanently residing in the territories of these countries.

Accordingly, the visa-free regime is valid for 30 days from the date of entry into Uzbekistan. Before the end of the 30-day visa-free stay period, a foreign citizen must leave the Republic of Uzbekistan. Exceeding the 30-day visa-free stay is recognized as violation of the Rules of stay of foreign citizens in the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Accordingly, if it is necessary to stay in Uzbekistan for more than 30 days, a foreign citizen must obtain an entry visa to the Republic of Uzbekistan in accordance with the established procedure, corresponding to the purpose of his trip.

For more information: